top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureRED Dan

Failed Feb

Apparently February is the new January for miserable, wasted months. It's surprising how quickly all motivation to stay active disappears when the challenge element is removed. Feeling good going in to the new month, I felt so sure I'd keep up my active routine, but by week two I'd lost my trainers under a pile of clothes and had swapped gym leggings for PJ's.


I feel it's important to point out that it's not all my fault, not only did my gym membership expire, I blame a large amount on Ciara and Dennis, storming their way in, causing carnage. Not only did their selfishness result in cancelled training AND matches, they also stopped Pokemon hunting at lunchtimes being fun. As much as I love turning up to afternoon presentations looking as though my hair gained it's own consciousness, trying to take over my face before forfeiting the battle and instead settling for a nest shaped space for birds to settle in for an afternoon nap, this is apparently not an acceptable look for a formal event.



In spite of the various sabotage attempts of the weather, I was able to get a couple of hockey games in throughout the month, bagging a couple more goals and a couple of days with more than 3,000 steps. Sitting happily at the top of league, it's going to be a very tight race to the end of season title. With a rivalry game against the team currently sat in second place still to play, the pressure is on for the points. As it stands our last game of the season, and possibly deciding game for the league winners is the day after my wedding. You can imagine the look on Sams face when I casually mentioned we could delay our mini-moon by half a day so I could play hockey...


I did return to African dance in the first week of Feb. I'm now a fully fledged member making my way in to the official WhatsApp group and appearing in the background of a promotional video - I had never considered a career in back up dancing until I saw just how much I stood out in the crowd. That might have had more to do with me nearly falling over, than due to ability and talent, but any publicity is good publicity!

Unfortunately due to work commitments and an anniversary I conveniently remembered the day of (after Sam had tagged me in a gushy FB post), I haven't been since, but I aim to get back in March and request a routine I can use at the wedding...


As for football, I decided at the beginning of the month to leave the team. After training with another team and realising how much I had stopped enjoying the game, I decided it was best to take a break. Needing time for the never-ending wedding planning, the intention was to take the remainder of the season out from games, and train casually in preparation for pre-season. After two weeks unsigned (for the first time since recovering from knee surgery 5 years ago), it felt strange losing that team commitment, however it was short lived and as of last week I have officially signed for Hartham United Ladies FC. I cannot wait to get back on a pitch this weekend :)


With less than 3 weeks until serious adulting commences, signing away the rest of my life to another person (looking good in a dress and heels whilst doing it - as long as I don't have to walk too much anyway), RED DAN is attempting a come back. From the 1st March, the plan is to regain my competitive edge and challenge myself to maintain my previously chosen goals.


So to finish off, the totals are in...


Best end of day step total for February: 25,152

Worst end of day step total for February: 3,858


The average was probably somewhere around 8,000. I give myself a C+ with a note of 'must do better'.


6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page