top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureRED Dan

It's the final countdown...

Day 28


With the day starting in my new found routine, drop car in random neighbourhood, walk to work, lunchtime walk, etc.etc, I was trying to make up as many early steps as I could. Unfortunately there was no hockey for me tonight, instead Sam picked me up from work and I got the thrill of sitting at the wedding hotel, filling out more questions about the big day. There is one question in particular which I am still upset by, I'm not sure why it is unacceptable for me to sneak in to dinner after the ceremony and wait at the bar, while Sam's arrival is announced and the guests can clap her in solo (she loves the attention, I however am slightly mortified by the idea...) but if anyone knows of a good reason, please do let me know!

Anyway, you can only begin to imagine my excitement when out of the corner of my eye I noticed Steph Houghton (the England Ladies captain), followed by Jill Scott, Georgia Stanway, Demi Stokes and the rest of the Man City ladies squad walk by our table and in to the back of the hotel. After countless attempts at trying to convince the nice hotel lady and Sam that it would be a great idea for me to request numerous selfies with the team, I was denied, and they continued discussing wedding stuff. The complete disappointment left me so spaced out, I'm still not 100% on what I have agreed to. I guess the day will be a complete surprise for all of us!


End of day step total: 14,281


Day 29


With lots to get through today, I managed to score another work from home day. After working through lunch to get everything done, I was set to finish at half 4. After the excitement of seeing the Man City ladies the night before, it seemed only right to go to Borehamwood and watch them play Arsenal in the Conti Cup that evening, so knowing there would be another evening of no sport, I took the chance of an early finish to get a quick session in at the gym.

Now for those of you paying attention, you may have noticed that during day 28 I parked my car for work, with Sam then picking me up to take me to the hotel. Now, picture the look of despair as I walk outside in my leggings and hoody, car keys in hand, realising that my car is not parked nicely outside the front of my house. It is in fact parked a 35 minute walk away, where I had abandoned it to get to work. At least I got a few steps in during the retrieval.


With just over an hour and a half until I had to be ready to leave, I decided that I'd still be able to squeeze in a 20 minute run, before heading home to wash my hair (because who doesn't enjoy being a walking cliché). With motivation high, I got the gym to find that every single running machine was taken. Not being a quitter I started on the cross-trainer to get in a little exercise whilst patiently waiting for a running machine. After 5 painfully long minutes, my patience paid off and not one, but two people got off the treadmill. I gave a sly nod to the girl on the machine next to me, who was also waiting for the running machines, and we jumped down completing a subtly fast walk to the newly abandoned machines. I turned the corner to head down the behind the row of machines, glancing at my new ally to see the victory on her face as she jumped on and began her workout. With the machine in reach I take my final steps forward, and as if in slow motion, from the other end of the row, some guy steps in front of me and hops on the free treadmill.

Anger, frustration and shame at my inability to beat him overcame me, and in my usual mature manner, I turn on my heels, storm off to the changing room and head home in a sulk.


Atleast the burger van at the Arsenal game provided some comfort!


End of day step total: 10,457


Day 30


With a slightly later night than anticipated I forced myself to the office, completing the workday ritual. After much thought and deliberation around lunchtime, I decided it was for the best to leave my current football team, which meant there would be no training this evening. Instead after work I headed for a quick coffee catch up (where I consumed water because coffee is still icky), and then walked over to the Leisure Park from town to watch a movie.

Considering this a rest day, minimal effort was put in to be active, ending the day barely above target.


End of day step total: 10,916

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page