top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureRED Dan

Where did the weekend go?!

Day 13


Back to work and the Workweek Hustle Fitbit challenge is back for round 2, with an extra member this week, to raise the competitive bar. After a busy weekend I planned a quiet evening at the cinema, to give myself a rest day, and the chance for the others to get a head start in the challenge - what can I say I'm a team player... Continuing to stick with lunchtime walks and parking my car as far away as sensibly possible, I was making good progress towards my daily target by the time I drove home.

Other than an excited run to the popcorn counter, and bouncing around the Pick'n'mix section, exercise was minimal.


End of day step total: 11,413


Day 14


With an early meeting in Watford taking up my morning, I was pretty lacking on the step front by lunchtime, as I headed home to work for the rest of the day. Upon arrival, I was greeted by a sick Sam who had managed to pick up a stomach bug from work. With a busy week ahead and no time to get sick, I covered my face dramatically with my jumper, waved at her through a crack in the door and headed out for a lunchtime walk around the block. With a pre-planned Nandos booked in before hockey training, I wearily popped my head in to check the germs were being contained to her isolated corner of the bed only, and headed out to meet a friend.

Thanks to the predicted 80mph hurricanes taking over Hertfordshire, hockey was cancelled for safety reasons - although personally I'm not sure what could possibly be considered dangerous about a small, hard ball being launched in the air with a stick and blown toward your unprotected bones...

With no sport to keep me active I resided to the gym, which after a phone call from a fragile sounding girlfriend, allowed me to feel less guilty about only staying for 45 minutes. It didn't help my ego with the fact I was currently losing the Fitbit challenge however.


End of day step total: 14,794


Day 15


With a big work event taking up most of my day, I managed to squeeze in some steps running around the supermarkets looking for nut free cakes for attendees. Thankfully they are rarer than expected, so I managed to rack up a good few thousand. Still in second position in the Fitbit challenge, I was feeling the bitterness of having to sit completely still for 2 hours during a presentation, whilst other members of the group were able to walk around filming and assisting. Note to self - get a better phone camera so I can volunteer to walk around pointing it in the faces of attendees, rather than sitting by as a stepless bystander!

I did get to trial a small amount of chair yoga during the event, as one of my personal RED Jan challenges was to try new physical activities which I'm so far failing at, I was pleased to embrace an activity I would never have chosen to do, even if only for 5/10 minutes. Thankfully there is no photographic evidence of me looking like an uncomfortably stretched giraffe, but it's encouraged me to try harder to attend a couple of different classes next week.

With Sam spontaneously feeling better, she agreed she wanted to come along to football training. After a bit of time spent on a pass and move drill, we moved over to the big goal, meaning I had half hour of throwing myself at the floor as fast as I could, trying to get in the way of the balls the girls were booting toward me.


Disappointed with my step count after training, and wallowing in my current losing position I decided it would be a fun idea to walk to Asda to buy a singular light bulb, rather than the sensible option to have stopped in there on the way home, as we drove past the store. 4 achy legs, 2 hours, and 1 McDonalds later, we made it home with the wrong sized light bulb...


End of day step total: 25,480

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page