top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureRED Dan

Workweek Hustle

Day 6


Monday morning saw the start of a Workweek Fitbit challenge amongst a few of the MiMH team. A friendly challenge, set up with good intentions to motivate us to push ourselves and each other a little further than normal, may have already found its competitive edge. Within an hour 'Taunts' and 'Boo's' were flying through the chat and regular updates to try and take the lead had begun.

The team engaged in a lunchtime walk, which may or may not have involved 2 of us staring at our phones for half an hour catching Pokemon (slightly missing the social element of RED Jan, I admit). After some fresh air and a good stretch of the legs, the afternoon flew by.


I had planned for the evening to include my first different physical activity, gym timetable checked and Yoga noted, I was all but in my delightfully tight spandex leggings when I decided I instead had to adult and complete some of my wedding homework. Not all was lost however as I did partake in 2 different '10-minute dance parties' throughout the dinner making process. My kitchen has never experienced such scenes, and I feel it's safe to say, I have still not quite learnt the art of 'the slut-drop'.


End of day step total: 10,639





Day 7


Apparently local primary schools are all now back, meaning that parking within a mile radius of my usual spot was an unrealistic dream. After eventually finding a space nearly back at my house, I racked up a couple thousand steps on the walk in. Another lunch time walk completed and I was just holding first place in the Fitbit competition that has all but now taken over my life, in a non competitive 'lets all encourage each other' way of course... By the time I got home I had a steady lead, with hockey training still on the agenda for the evening.

After nearly a month of no hockey the first training session was intense. Completing over 7,000 steps in the hour and a half session, at one point I thought my lungs might explode. There were some good drills, building on various game play to get us back ready for Saturdays game, all at a high tempo that only stopped for brief explanations and position changes. By the end of the session I felt I could now remember how to hit a ball, although I was too tired to physically be able to do it!


End of day step total: 18,057


Day 8


Getting out of bed hurt, every body part is aching and I know I've pushed myself which feels good. After 10 minutes of laying in bed debating if sleeping all day was worth losing my job, I decided against it and headed to the office. The lunchtime walk was definitely shorter and slower today, but I did manage to get out and wonder around for the whole half hour, with no stops at Greggs, Subway or Starbucks which I'm taking as a win.

By the time I got home the levels of tiredness hit me like a brick, and like the non-adulting adult that I am, I took an hour nap before heading to football training with some of my old team.

The training session was set at a steady pace, with drills forcing us to create space and movement, which again meant lots of running. If my body is still working by the end of RED Jan, I may need to take up a sport that involves less physical exertion, maybe bowls...


End of day step total: 14,624

15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page