top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureRED Dan

Workweek Winner...?

Day 9


With a busy work schedule I was treated to a work from home day, which meant by lunchtime the only steps I had done were down to the kitchen for cereal. After panicking that I would lose my top position in the Fitbit race, I begrudgingly got dressed and went for a walk around the block, which turned in to a 35 minute hike around the whole of the Shephall area. 7,000 steps later and my position secured for the time being, I cracked back on with my day.

After a bribery call from one of my teammates, I agreed to go football training, despite reeeally enjoying the Netflix marathon I had only gotten 10 minutes in to. With the agreement that we could go home as soon as I hit 10,000 steps as I was tired and wanted to go back to bed, we walked in to a fitness centred session. No, I wasn't allowed to leave. Yes, there were multiple continuous running tasks. Also yes, I ended up at the pub until midnight.


End of day step total: 13,920


Day 10

We made it to Friday!

Back in the office today and another lunchtime walk in the bag. We're down to a single digit countdown to the end of the Fitbit challenge. With still only a couple of thousand steps between the top two challengers, the pressure is on. With Sam moaning that she feels ill, I cancelled the pre-agreed gym session and instead settled for a long walk to McDonalds (I bought her a McFlurry to help with the sore throat she kept moaning about - I'm not a complete monster...)

With less than 10 minutes to go, I sync my watch, and confirm my lead. The weeks pushed efforts of continuous forced exercise through achey legs now felt worth it. Not that it's all about the winning... It's also about the little electronic trophy I won :D


End of day step total: 19,046

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page